The Civil War Maps of David Greenspan

25 Mar

I recently wrote in this space of my respect for author Bruce Catton and the influence his writing about the Civil War had on me as a child. Today I’d like to mention a particular aspect of the specific book by Catton I referenced that, to be honest, may have had as much of an impact on me as Catton himself.

greenspan chickamauga

Catton’s American Heritage Pictorial History of the Civil War contained the best maps of Civil War battles I have ever seen. In fact, to call them maps actually does them a disservice in my opinion. They pieces of art, elaborately detailed and three-dimensional dioramas explaining the ebb and flow of battles unlike anything I have seen before or since. The maps provide viewers with an understanding of the physical layout of the battlefield and the pivotal moments in space and time that occurred on them that is unparalleled. Intriguing, informative, and unique, they are the one thing I remember most about Catton’s book. I could not help but be captivated by them as a child, and I’ll admit I still am today.

greenspan spotsylvania

I do not know what spark of genius caused them to be created, or why their creator, a gentleman named David Greenspan, remains so anonymous. I have looked for information on Greenspan but not found much. Surely someone with such talent did more work before or after illustrating Catton’s volume!? I am glad I have a copy of Richard O’Shea’s Battle Maps of the Civil War (1995), which showcases the Greenspan series among dozens of other battle maps. But, sadly, the book contains nothing further enlightening readers as to Greenspan’s life or other work. If anyone knows anything more about this mysterious artist, please let me know.

JMB

36 Responses to “The Civil War Maps of David Greenspan”

  1. Michael Greenspan September 3, 2013 at 12:34 AM #

    For info on David, please E-mail, mbgdlg21@myacc.net.

    Michael Greenspan

  2. Frank Salles November 7, 2013 at 12:20 AM #

    Like yourself I was always facinated by the Greenspan Maps in Catons book. But I have come to beleive that the name David Greenspan is a false name. Also I dont know if you’ve ever seen any but I do remember as a child seeing A David Greenspan map of a revolutionary war battle in some book long ago.
    Frank

    • The Historians Manifesto November 8, 2013 at 9:57 AM #

      Sorry for the late approval on the comment; have been out of town. I have been contacted by a family member with some bio info on Greenspan, though.

    • Turk Hill October 2, 2021 at 11:52 AM #

      Yes, I recall seeing (David Greenspan) type art (maps) of the revolutionary war battles Bunker Hill, Trenton, and I think Monmouth years ago at my local libary. I wonder if it’s still there.

      • Turk Hill October 2, 2021 at 11:55 AM #

        Also, I have the Civil War book with Greenspan Maps. It’s called the Golden book of the Civil War, but it’s in rough shape though. But all of the pages are still intact. I got it from my local library years ago and the maps still look great.

  3. John November 25, 2013 at 8:51 AM #

    The Revolutionary War map was of the battles of Trenton and Princeton and appeared in American Heritage book ‘George Washington and the Making of a Nation”.

  4. Phil March 23, 2014 at 3:54 AM #

    Thank you for this. I was given this book as a gift when I was seven (mid-seventies), and I spent hours upon hours looking over these maps. I now have a son who is seven and has a keen interest in the Civil War. I wanted to get him this book, but I long ago lost my copy and I couldn’t remember the author or title . All I could remember was the maps, and after a long google image search I found your website — and have now ordered the book for my son.

    It is stunning these maps are not more widely known, they’re incredible, an amazing learning tool, not to mention truly works of art, as you say.

    • The Historians Manifesto April 11, 2014 at 8:39 AM #

      We are glad to help bring the work of this talented artist to the attention of more people.

  5. Andrew April 19, 2014 at 9:35 AM #

    Are you able to provide that further info on David Greenspan that you received from the family member ? I would like to learn about his other work, aside from the famous Civil War and Revolution maps.

    • The Historians Manifesto April 23, 2014 at 9:37 AM #

      What I have is from his nephew:
      “David was 1 of 4 brothers, he and his fraternal twin were the middle children. David’s parents were Abe and Yeta and resided in both and Brooklyn and Queens, NY over the years. David did a lot of work for American Heritage including the “Civil War”, “American Indians” and “A Contribution to The Heritage Of Every American”. David died at 39 in NYC due to, I believe a bleeding ulcer.”

  6. Seb Palmer October 7, 2014 at 10:21 PM #

    Dear JMB

    I, like you, was captivated by the battlefield maps of David Greenspan, and I, again like you, have often wondered why I haven’t seen more in this vein, or, for that matter, more by David Greenspan.

    I initially thought I’d seen them in National Geographic, amongst the 100th anniversary commemorative articles they ran in the 1960s, which I saw as a child in the late ’70s or early ’80s.

    However, collecting the three issues that contained those NG articles was something of a disappointment. There’s one picture of the surrender at Appomattox, done in much the same style, by Robert and Dorothy Nicholson, in the April ’65 issue, and a trio of similar-ish maps of Gettysburg in the July ’63 issue, also by one or other of the Nicholsons.

    But I had remembered there being a lot more such illustrations, covering numerous battles. Where were they all? I still wonder if there weren’t other issues of NG in which they might’ve appeared!

    I posted about this theme on one of my blogs:

    http://aquestionofscale.blogspot.co.uk/2014/08/national-geographics-100th-anniversary.html

    … and also on a wargaming hobby website (TMP, or ‘the miniatures page’), and as a result of a response there I ordered a used copy of Bruce Catton’s American Heritage Picture History of The Civil War, from Amazon UK (I’m in England). And… finally! I had, at long, long last, found what I was looking for. A kind of nostalgic quest for the Holy Grail, that had haunted me for nearly 30 years, was over.

    I’m an artist and illustrator myself, so I’m perhaps even more sensitised, if you will, to such work and its merits, knowing a little from experience about what goes into creating illustrative work.

    So, many thanks for posting on this topic, and thanks also to Michael Greenspan for contacting you (I’m going to contact him as well!). How sad to learn David died so young!

    Warm regards

    Sebastian

  7. Randy Skrimager July 10, 2015 at 1:10 AM #

    I echo everyone’s comments on Greenspan’s brilliant art. I was 10 years old (1964) when I stumbled upon the American Heritage Picture History of the Civil war in my school library in Northern California. I hardly even knew what the Civil War was. I was so fascinated that I asked the librarian if I could take it home (even though it was a reference book and was not supposed to be checked out). She granted my wish, and I read Bruce’s narrative and scanned every photo and illustration in the book more times that I could ever count. It became the launching pad for my interest in the Civil War – not just the battles themselves but the atmosphere that caused it and how people lived and managed to get through it. Recently, I found a copy of the book in a used book store and eagerly purchased it. Those maps still captivate me today. Great stuff.

    • The Historians Manifesto July 10, 2015 at 10:06 AM #

      He had a bigger impact on a lot of historians than he probably ever realized. thanks for sharing this story.

    • David Edquist June 30, 2016 at 5:13 AM #

      Randy, I am your age and did the exact same thing in Eastern Washington around the same time. What a great interpretive tool he created. So imaginative!

  8. gwilwren August 28, 2015 at 4:56 AM #

    My interest in the Civil War was originally kindled by the rather bloodthirsty bubblegum card series. My parents owned a hotel in Wales and in the late 1960s some American guests noted my interest in the Civil War and kindly sent me the Catton book. I was immediately captivated by the maps and they cemented a lifelong interest in the conflict.

  9. cinzia8 April 2, 2016 at 1:26 AM #

    I went looking for David Greenspan because he did the most beautiful 3D map of Constantinople for the book The Great Ages of Man-Byzantium, a Time-Life publication. I was hoping I might be able to purchase the map’s use for my novel set in Constantinople. I’m sorry to hear of Mr. Greenspan’s passing. He was quite talented.

  10. mpetty99 July 28, 2016 at 4:32 AM #

    Thank you!!! I’ve been looking for the American Heritage book for ages (ever since my parents unloaded it in a move) and I thought I would never find it again, since I didn’t know the actual name of it. Thank you for sharing about the artist and the works he was involved in. I now have both the American Heritage and the Battle Maps books on order. Thank you again!

  11. The Historians Manifesto November 16, 2016 at 10:24 AM #

    The only place I have ever seen them is in Catton’s Civil War history.

    • Joe MacIsaac November 30, 2018 at 11:28 AM #

      These maps are fantastic. You sit and look at them for hours and find something new each time.
      Do you know if there are bigger prints of these Civil War Maps ?
      Where would you even start to look to buy.

      • mpetty99 November 30, 2018 at 8:06 PM #

        Joe, if you scroll up the first comment is from MICHAEL Greenspan, I assume family of David. If you send a note to that e-mail address he may be able to point you in the right direction. I, too, would love to get a full-size Greenspan map!

      • The Historians Manifesto December 3, 2018 at 8:18 PM #

        The only place I have seen them is in Catton’s history and Battle Maps of the Civil War. It would be lovely to have a series of enlarged prints available!

  12. Steven Greenspan February 15, 2020 at 6:51 AM #

    Hi,
    David Greenspan was my uncle and was very much a real person. He died in the late 1960s; he was in his late 30s. If you would like information about him or would like to help me construct a wikipedia article about him (much overdo), please contact me at sgreenspan@gmail.com.

    • The Historians Manifesto February 16, 2020 at 11:28 PM #

      Thanks. I’ll be contacting you. Mike

    • Daniel O'Leary June 9, 2021 at 5:31 AM #

      Steven, Your Uncle David’s work..specifically in the Civil War picture book fascinated me as a kid in the early 70s. It had a direct and profound influence on me to become an artist. It continues to be today, during my career of 35 years as a professional illustrator and fine artist. I literally have his images on my computer now, as I work on an aerial illustration for large picture book project. While I don’t have any work similar to his in my portfolio yet….you might be able to see how his work inspired me. You can click on the link to my portfolio on illustration agent’s site. Wish I could thank him. Dan O’Leary illustrationx.com/artists/DanielOleary

  13. Julius H August 2, 2020 at 7:22 PM #

    Yes the great Bruce Catton book….I was utterly mesmerized by the battle pictures and the signatures in the bottom in each:”David Greenspan”.

    my brothers and i will be thrilled to see a wikipedia entry on David Greenspan. Please let me know of the progress. If there is anything i help with such as writing or outlining the wikipedia page, or comments, please let me know.

  14. Stephen C Graham October 30, 2022 at 1:04 PM #

    Found a copy of Richard O’Shea’s Battle Maps of the Civil War at Thriftbooks in good condition for only 6.99. Would like to hear more of the background of David Greenspan. Remember coming across his work in a Baptist Church library back in the 60’s. Was totally enthralled by his work.

    • The Historians Manifesto November 2, 2022 at 3:05 AM #

      That’s one of the reasons for the post–to get others who know more to share info about the man whose work was appreciated by so many.

  15. David Edquist October 31, 2022 at 5:55 AM #

    That book in my high school library totally enthralled me. I used to pour over those birdseye views of battles! Totally fascinating way to learn. David Edquist

  16. Stephen C Graham November 9, 2022 at 8:35 AM #

    Just received Battle Maps of the Civil War by Richard O’Shea with Greenspan art. Been looking for this art since the 60’s. Thank yall for the info that helped me locate his work.

  17. Stephen C Graham November 9, 2022 at 11:04 AM #

    Just found some revolutionary war art done by David Greenspan on the app Pinterest. Cowpens was one.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Civil War Trust maps | The Historians Manifesto - February 12, 2014

    […] we have posted previously in this blog (here and here), we love maps. Today we would like to bring attention to an organization producing some truly […]

Leave a comment